5 Stages of Recovery After a Breakup

Stages of Recovery After a BreakupA break up is one thing, but life after a breakup is another thing. There are many reasons in which people stay in unhealthy relationships. Sometimes it’s a financial reason.

Other times people stay in an unhealthy relationship because they want the children to have a two-parent household. Sometimes there is no reason at all in why someone stays in an unhealthy relationship.

Escaping violence is one thing, but after a breakup, there are several stages in which a person must go through. If you know someone going through a breakup, then help them out a little bit. Give them a little understanding and help them as much as you can.

Some of these stages are very emotional. The stages may take time to get through. Breakups are all similar in the stages of recovery after a breakup.

Whether someone has been abused or not, there are several stages one must go through to try and come out emotionally healthy on the other side.

If you are in an unhealthy relationship, you may find that some of these stages you have already been through.

Stages of Grief & Recovery After a Relationship Breakup

As mentioned before, there are 5 stages of recovery after a breakup. Each of these stages can be different lengths of time, depending on the person.

There are some people who may experience these stages all at once. Some people may experience each stage for long or short periods. It truly depends on the person. Let’s dive into the various stages of grief and recovery.

#1. Denial

You probably guessed very quickly that denial was one of the stages of recovery after a breakup. Denial is something that can haunt someone for a long time. Mostly, people are in denial because they can’t believe it’s happening to them and they don’t want to believe it is.

Another part of denial is hoping that things will go back to normal. What if it never goes back to normal? These thoughts all race through their mind.

While in denial, it’s to understand when the relationship is over. Of course, at some point the person is met with reality and they realize that it is real, the relationship is over and it’s time to move on.

Not every person goes through the denial stage in an abusive relationship or even after it’s over.

#2. Anger

How many of you have experienced anger? Most likely everyone reading this has experienced anger at one point in their life or another. When it comes to anger, this is a normal stage of recovery after a breakup.

Anger is a normal feeling. However, it’s a stage that you must go through in order to come to terms with where you have been and where you’re going. During this time period, it’s important to find a way to release your anger and let it all out. Pent up anger isn’t helping anyone.

#3. Bargaining

This may not even be a stage of recovery after a breakup that you knew existed, but it is one. A very powerful one. This is a time period in which one might look back at the relationship is over and wonder.

During this stage, a victim may try and get their life back. They may try and decide that what they weren’t going through wasn’t “that bad.” However, it was bad and going back can be more detrimental than the healing stage.

#4. Depression

Keep in mind that not every person deals with depression, but it is a very real feeling. Depression is one of the five stages of recovery after a breakup. This means that a person may feel sad or hopeless.

During this stage, you may start to break away from friends and family. You may be focused on yourself and how you feel. While it’s okay to focus on yourself, you do need to reach out to someone who can help you through this emotional part of healing.

Surrounding yourself with the right people is so important during this stage of healing.

#5. Acceptance

At some point in these stages of denial, acceptance comes into play. This is a feeling of coming to terms with how things are and how they will be. You may have feelings of regret, but at some point, you come to terms with life and how it will be from here on out.

From time to time, you may experience something that sends you back into one of the other stages. However, for now – that feeling of acceptance is super important.

Knowing what these five stages are and how they can help you come to terms with your life is so important. Abuse isn’t your fault, but that doesn’t mean your body doesn’t need to go through healing first.

Use these steps to help you understand the stages of healing. You’ll learn to recognize the stages of recovery after a breakup and eventually understand when you have gone through all five stages.